Hoping the Mystical Magic of Nepal Rubs off on My Legs

After a whirlwind year of traveling around the world, getting sick on numerous continents and meeting some odd, unique, and adventurous people in between, I find myself in Pokhara, Nepal, getting ready to attempt my most difficult physical challenge to date: a 155 mile ultramarathon through the foothills of the Himalaya mountain range.

One of the first questions people ask when my friends Samantha Gash, Jim Serpless and I tell them about the race is why we are doing such an endeavor.  And while most of our answers are based around the physical and mental challenge of the race, and the unique culture it affords us to see, inside I think we are all interested in meeting the other “crazy” people that do these races.  From my experience in the Sahara Desert in 2010, I have so many unique friends from all over the world, some who now play an integral part of my daily life.  And to think what my life would still be like if I didn’t take that chance and do the Sahara Race! I would probably still be employed and much wealthier than I am now, but for some reason the future seems brighter now than it ever has before, and I have races like these to thank for changing my thoughts on the power we all have to control our own destinies and accomplish what we are truly passionate about.

What makes this race so difficult is the elevation gain, and even more so, the elevation drops.  Going down a steep staircase for 2 hours straight can do some serious damage to my legs, so I am hoping that I don’t fall apart halfway through the race.  Besides that, my awkward training schedule throughout the year has left me a bit anxious, especially since I did well in my first race placing second.  But I can’t wait until that countdown begins to the first gun and I can look over at my friends, each with our big smiles on, and be excited for the adventure that lay ahead.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hoping the Mystical Magic of Nepal Rubs off on My Legs

  1. Andrew says:

    Good luck, Ryan – you’ll be great for all 155!

  2. Jamie Kuykendall says:

    you are a champ! im so proud of you- let me know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

