Pucon Rocks It

As I sit here at 7:15pm in the lively lake town of Pucon, I keep thinking to myself that I can definitely get used to this place.  What makes it unique and great is that there are so many awesome options to keep you busy.  Here is how my approximately 72 hours went.

12PM – Show up at my hostel around noon after wandering around the town for a bit.

3PM – Head to the black sound beach on the lake with crystal clear water on an 85 degree day.

7PM – ??? – Make some new friends at the hostel and party and dance with them until the wee hours of the morning.

6:30AM – Wake up exhausted and somehow manage to make it to the adventure tour company’s office.

8AM – 4PM – Climb a 3,000 meter active volcano.  This was probably one of the coolest things I have ever done.  Upon climbing to the summit with an ice axe and crampons on my shoes, my group was able to look down into the crevice and see smoke billowing out.  The smell of sulfur and the intensity of the smoke were overwhelming and made me cough and my nose run uncontrollably, so I couldn’t spend too much time on the top, but the views from up there made you feel like you were in an airplane looking over the entire world.

On the way up...

View from the top!

8PM – Head to a wine tasting at a different hostel, meet some more new friends (some from NY) and hang for a few hours before going to bed.

1AM – 10AM – Sleep…. Finally.  This hostel even has down comforters… feel like I’m in heaven!

1PM – Head to Parque Nacional Huerquehue with my friends from NY, Amelia and Margaret, and go on a 10 mile, 5 hour hike with sweeping vistas of numerous lakes, valleys, and araucaria trees.  At a rest stop towards the end of the hike, I turn to Amelia and say “Damn, life is pretty good, huh?”

Parque Nacional Huerquehue

9PM – Drink a bottle of Escudo beer with my friend Sandra as the sun goes down.

1AM – Head to the discotheque to dance to, you guessed it, reggae tone.   Needless to say, my performance was abysmal as usual, but at least no one commented on how bad it was or asked me what the hell I was doing, which has sadly happened on more than one occasion.

11AM – After catching up on emails, run to the outskirts of town where there was nothing but horses, cows, views of the volcano, and my kindle and I.

Tonight is my last night here and I’m planning on taking it pretty easy, as I have a bus to the city of Osorno tomorrow morning at 9:30AM.  From there, I am taking another bus to Parque Nacional Puyehue to do some trekking and camping for a few days.  This will be my first time camping on the trip and my first time ever camping alone so it should be quite an experience.  As long as I don’t end up sleeping outside with my new tent broken or unable to be put up, I will consider the trip a success.

I’ll be posting again within the next week on some new stuff!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pucon Rocks It

  1. courtney bennett says:

    Sounds like you are having an awesome time! Im sure youll get ur tent up fine, me and drew managed when we went to santa barbara and we were workin with ground that was like rock. And glad to see no shoulders popped on your volcano “climb”..We dont want an Alaska cruise replay. Haha 😉

  2. Elayne M says:

    Hi Ryan, hope you are having a great time! I’m so jealous of all the fun and amazing things you are doing! I read some of your current and older blogs and I just want to say I have nothing but respect and admiration for you and what you stand for. I enjoy reading your blogs, so keep them coming! Have a fun and safe trip! Looking forward to reading more!! P.S. great pics!

  3. Charles & Bey says:

    Ry! We are so happy to hear you are spreading great moves like “f.b. special” to the discotheques in South America. We think they will become really popular. We went to Adobe Blues last night….feel like we should give you the run down of what we’re doing back here LOL Glad to hear you’re having a good time. Have fun camping; I’m guessing one good thing about camping alone is you don’t have to worry about being the first one asleep 😉 Watch out for those ball-tagging South American wilderbeasts.

  4. Anthony Incontro says:

    Yo Kid,

    Looks a and sounds amazing. I hope you are having a great time. Be safe, see you when you get back.

Leave a Reply

